Sunday Shares

It’s been a while right? Between being sick and keeping up with tumblr and writings, my internet attention has been focused away from this blog. I think what I need is more blogs to follow on this site. So if you few readers I have have any suggestions for great blogs or nice people, send em my way! 🙂

So I decided to do a quick post of things I’ve been up to since I last blogged.

Read:
The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead
indigocoverI’m a Richelle Mead convert ever since her Vampire Academy series. Whenever I recommend it to other supernatural YA lovers I urge them to give it a chance in spite of its cheesy title and cover. I thought all of those things when I first saw it on the shelves at the bookstore.

I’ve been wanting to check out RM’s other book series for a while now–she writes two others that are more on the adult side of fiction and has a third coming out later this summer. But THEN she had to do this whole spinoff featuring one of my all time favorite book crushes, Ardrian Ivashkov (seriously, if he was real life, I’d marry him in a heartbeat).

This is the third book in the Bloodlines series and by far the most romantic. This book sees protagonist, Sydney Sage, questioning her world more and more and reexamining the things she has been taught by the alchemists all her life. The aspect of her taking a second look at the things she has been taught, speaks to me, because when I was a teenager I did something similar (obviously not to the degree that she does though). Anyways, in short, great book! I can’t wait for the next on in November.

Watched:
Elementary 

elementary

Okay so if you are friends with me, you know I was in complete and utter denial of this show when it was first announced. I remember being in the theaters over the summer and seeing commercials for it and just getting so pissed. Reason being, I’m a huge fan of the BBC Sherlock and am always dubious of “American remakes” of British shows. Not to mention the change of ‘John’ to ‘Joan’. I don’t want to sound anti-feminist but it was more from a stand point that I was worried the show would jump to some romantic area like so many other crime duo shows on television now. But, I started seeing some stuff from it on Tumblr and thought it might look pretty good so I decided to check it out.

I humbly admit that I was completely wrong in all my preconceived notions about the show. I think it’s absolutely fantastic. Johnny Lee Miller and Lucy Liu are great together and the writing is truly amazing. I really enjoy this interpretation of Sherlock Holmes, which stands out and alone from any other version of Sherlock out there right now. So if you are still one of those people who are reluctant to give it a watch, I say check it out. I am now in love with it. Like I needed another show to add to my watch list.

Can’t Wait  To Watch:
Much Ado About Nothing

This week (was it this week?) I saw the trailer for Joss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing. I’m a sucker for a few things here: modern adaptations of Shakespeare and super stylized black and white films. Who didn’t love Baz Lurhman’s Romeo + Juliet? This film looks cool and sexy and I’m looking forward to seeing it when it comes out!

Well that’s it for me today! Hope you all have a fantastic Sunday and don’t forget about those blog suggestions. It would be much appreciated!

signature

Leave a Reply

