TBT Tunes: The Distillers

Drain the Blood – The Distillers

I was listening to The Nerdist podcast this week, featuring Josh Homme (of Queens of the Stone Age & Eagles of Death Metal fame) and he mentioned being married to Brody Dalle, lead singer and guitarist of The Distillers. Fact about me: when I was in high school, I secretly wanted to be Brody Dalle. Even though I was a cheerleader turned drama-nerd, I had this secret love of punk and a longing to dye my hair, pile on the black eye liner, and get a few piercings. I remember seeing pics of Brody Dalle in Alternative Press magazine (yes I totally had a subscription) and wishing that I had the courage to look exactly like that.  However, growing up in a small southern town, experimental self expression was not exactly encouraged. There were a few kids who went with the whole “punk” thing in my high school. In fact, if I recall correctly, most of them were labelled as “skater kids”. Not to mention, my parents, as liberal as they could be, would have had a straight up heart attack.

However, I did go on a tattoo/piercing spree when I turned 21. So I guess I did eventually achieve my dreams a bit. And I can sneer, just like Brody Dalle.

Anyways, love this song. It’s totally on my running playlist.

Happy Thursday!

signature

 

Leave a Reply

